Emeriti Faculty

Emeriti Faculty

  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W
  • X
  • Y
  • Z

Ilhan Basgöz

Ilhan Basgöz

Professor Emeritus, Folklore

Professor Emeritus, Central Eurasian Studies

  • turkish@indiana.edu

Research Interests
oral literature; epics; romances; Asia; Near East; Turkey

Richard Bauman

Richard Bauman

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Folklore

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Anthropology

  • bauman@indiana.edu

Research Interests
narrative; drama; religion; performance studies; semiotics; Mexico; the United States

Mary Ellen Brown

Mary Ellen Brown

Professor Emerita, Folklore

Professor Emerita, Gender Studies

Adjunct Professor, English

  • brown2@indiana.edu

Research Interests
ballad, folksong; historical ethnology and cultural criticism; Scotland; Britain; Europe; the United States

Mellonee V. Burnim

Mellonee V. Burnim

Professor Emerita, Ethnomusicology

  • burnim@indiana.edu

Research Interests
black religious music and aesthetics; music in the African Diaspora

Inta Carpenter

Inta Carpenter

Research Scholar, Folklore and Ethnomusicology

  • carpente@indiana.edu

Research Interests
ethnic, exile, and diaspora identity; life story; cultural documentation /ethnography; applied folklore

Sandra K. Dolby

Sandra K. Dolby

Professor Emerita, Folklore

  • dolby@indiana.edu

Research Interests
Australian folklore; American folklore; Indiana folklore; personal narrative; folklore and literature; folksong

Hasan El-Shamy

Hasan El-Shamy

Professor Emeritus, Folklore

  • elshamy@indiana.edu

Research Interests
the folk narrative and the ballad; typology; social structure; religion among the folk; mental health in traditional cultures; psychological approaches and folklore theory; Africa; the Middle East

Henry H. Glassie

Henry H. Glassie

College Professor Emeritus, Folklore

Research Interests
folk art and material culture; historical approaches; the United States, Ireland, Turkey, Bangladesh

Diane Goldstein

Diane Goldstein

Professor Emerita, Folklore and Ethnomusicology

  • diagolds@indiana.edu

Research Interests
belief studies; folk medicine; folk religion; supernatural traditions; applied folklore; the ethnography of speaking; personal narrative; legend; trauma; violence; gender; sexuality

William Hansen

William Hansen

Professor Emeritus, Folklore

Professor Emeritus, Classical Studies

  • hansen@indiana.edu

Research Interests
epic; classical mythology; the ancient world

Roger Janelli

Roger Janelli

Professor Emeritus, Folklore

Professor Emeritus, East Asian Languages and Cultures

  • janelli@indiana.edu

Research Interests
culture; religion; political economy; anthropological approaches; Korea; East Asia

John W. Johnson

John W. Johnson

Associate Professor Emeritus, Folklore

  • johnsonj@indiana.edu

Research Interests
epic and oral poetry; Somalia; Mali; Africa; computer assisted research; popular culture

Portia K. Maultsby

Portia K. Maultsby

Professor Emerita, Ethnomusicology

  • maultsby@indiana.edu

Research Interests
popular music; the music industry; African American music; musical aesthetics and transnationalism

John Holmes McDowell

John Holmes McDowell

Professor Emeritus, Folklore and Ethnomusicology

Editor, Journal of Folklore Research Reviews

  • mcdowell@indiana.edu

Research Interests
speech play and verbal art; the corrido of Greater Mexico; music, myth, and cosmology in the Andes; commemoration; folklorization; ethnopoetics; Latin America; the United States

Gregory A. Schrempp

Gregory A. Schrempp

Professor, Folklore and Ethnomusicology

  • gschremp@indiana.edu

Research Interests
myth, cosmology, and worldview; comparative mythology; history of ideas; Oceania; North America

Beverly Stoeltje

Beverly Stoeltje

Professor Emerita, Folklore

Professor Emerita, Anthropology

  • stoeltje@indiana.edu

Research Interests
ritual and festival; feminist theory; the American West; Ghana; West Africa

Ruth Stone

Ruth Stone

Professor Emerita, Ethnomusicology

  • stone@indiana.edu

Research Interests
music as culture and performance; theory of ethnomusicology; Africa; the Middle East

Sue Tuohy

Sue Tuohy

Senior Lecturer Emerita, Folklore and Ethnomusicology

  • tuohys@indiana.edu

Research Interests
ethnomusicology; film and music; intellectual history; music and socio-political transformation; music and culture in contemporary China; East Asia